Like any other social media platform, Instagram is designed to connect people. The fact is, Instagram has become a new online home of more than 1 billion people where folks come together to share thoughts, experience, and their daily life activities. But, sadly there are plenty of people who misuse the power of social media. Cases related to scams, misinformation, and harassment are on rise. That's why many people could be seen asking on the internet how to block someone on Instagram.
As you are reading this post, I easily can guess that someone has spoiled your day on Instagram. Worry not! Whether someone is sending you objectionable messages or using inappropriate words in response to your post, don't test your patience. Without any second thought you must block the offender. And if you are not satisfied with only blocking, you can contact us and register a complaint against the wrongdoer.
So, to help you understand all about blocking a person on Instagram, I am going to answer some of the commonly asked questions.
What happens when you block someone on Instagram?
Can the person who blocked me on Instagram still see my profile? You might have this question in your mind. Here is the answer- No. Note that a blocked person can't see your profile on Instagram. If you are wondering why you can't find the profile of one of your friends or contacts, chances are high that you have been blocked by that particular person. That's not all, after being blocked on Instagram, there are a few more things that you can't do:
A blocked user also can't comment & like the post of a person who imposed a ban.
Blocked users on Instagram can't send the friend request.
Note that once you are blocked on Instagram, you can't mention or tag the person who blocked you.
Whether somebody is sending you unwanted messages or posting hatred or insulting comments in response to your Instagram post, blocking is the simplest way to get rid of all this nonsense. Moreover, if somebody is trying to spam you and acting as a suspicious person, posing a threat to your privacy, immediately block that person before it is too late. These are the steps to follow to ban someone on Instagram from contacting you and reacting in response to your post/profile:
Navigate to the profile of that Instagram user whom you want to block.
Now look at the top right corner, you will find a three dots icon. Select it.
You will get a pop up with a drop down menu. Select the block option to permanently block users.
If you wish, you can select the report option to register a complaint against that user.
How to unblock someone on Instagram?
In case if you have blocked somebody mistakenly or just you have changed your mind, no worry. You can unblock anyone on Instagram in just a few simple taps on your phone. Follow these steps:
Launch the Instagram app on your phone.
From the bottom right side, select your profile and proceed.
The next step is to press the three horizontal lines available at the top right corner of the screen.
From the drop down menu, pick up settings and then choose privacy.
Further, you need to select blocked accounts.
The next screen will open up showing all the profiles that you have blocked.
Select the account that you want to unblock and then tap the unblock option.
Finally, once again tap unblock to lift the restrictions completely.
Can I block someone from messaging me Instagram?
Yes, definitely, you can block anyone who is causing you trouble by sending you unwanted messages on Instagram. All you have to do is just go to the profile of that person whom you want to block. And then follow the steps as I have mentioned above in the section you can block a follower, friend, or any other Instagram user. By following the same steps, you can block anyone from commenting on your Instagram photos and videos.
Tip: In case if you can’t block anyone on Instagram, it means you have already been blocked by the same user who you want to block.